
STOP!!!

If your professional license does NOT expire within 
30 days from the date you are attempting to take 

this course, you will not be able to receive 
recertification at this time.

Please revisit and complete the test within 30 days 
of the expiration date of your professional license.



Mandatory Pre-Screening
Agent Refresher Course

Training provided by:
Tennessee Department of Mental Health and 

Substance Abuse Services
Office of Crisis Services and Suicide Prevention
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Purpose of Training

� To keep Mandatory Pre-screening 
Agents (MPA) up to date on Tennessee 
law, MPA responsibilities and 
community resources

� You will be authorized by the state and 
registered with the State Claims 
Commission to complete the first 
Certificate of Need (CON or 6-404) for 
emergency involuntary hospitalization.



What is Mandatory Pre-screening?

A community-based screening process 
designed to:

� Provide alternatives to hospitalization
� Minimize length of confinement
� Promote speedy return to the 
community

� Maximize service recipient’s ability to 
remain in a community setting 

T.C.A. § 33-6-104



What is Pre-screening?

� A face-to-face evaluation, either by 
physical presence or televideo, of a 
service recipient to assess eligibility 
for emergency involuntary admission 
and to determine whether all 
available and appropriate less drastic 
alternative services and supports are 
unsuitable to meet his or her needs.

MPS Rule Chapter 0940-3-8-.03(7)



Who is Qualified to be a               
Mandatory Pre-screening Agent?

� Must be a qualified mental health 
professional (QMHP)

� Must be licensed or certified to 
practice in TN 

� All disciplines must satisfactorily 
complete TDMHSAS training on 
emergency commitment criteria 
and procedures

NOTE: Authority may be limited by the Commissioner if not 
affiliated with a state contracted crisis response service

T.C.A. § 33-6-427



What is a QMHP?

� Psychiatrist

� Physician with expertise in 
psychiatry

� Psychologist with health 
service provider 
designation

� Licensed psychological 
examiner

� Licensed senior 
psychological examiner

� Licensed Physician’s 
Assistant with a master’s 
degree and expertise in 
psychiatry as determined 
by training, education or 
experience

� Licensed master’s social worker 
with two years of mental health 
experience

� Licensed clinical social worker

� Licensed or certified marital and 
family therapist

� Licensed professional counselor

� Licensed nurse with a master’s 
degree in nursing who functions 
as a psychiatric nurse

T.C.A. § 33-1-101 (20)



If Working with Children

The professional must have 
mental health experience with 
children if providing 
Mandatory Pre-screening 
services to service recipients 
who are children.



Who Designates MPAs?

The Commissioner: 

� Designates individuals to serve

� May set limits on an agent’s authority

� May decline to designate a person who 
satisfies the requirements

� May remove designation               
without cause                 

T.C.A. § 33-6-104



About Mandatory 
Pre-screening Agents 

Originally, MPAs had to be associated with a 
crisis response service but the law was 
changed in 2000 to allow MPAs to work 
independently in a variety of settings such 
as: 

� Emergency Rooms

� Community Mental Health Centers

� Jails

� Schools

� Private practice



Crisis Response Service

A team designated by the 
Commissioner to provide crisis 
intervention, pre-screening, 
and diversion services in a 
defined service area.

MPS Rule Chapter 0940-3-8-.03(3)



� East Tennessee
– Frontier Health

– Cherokee

– Helen Ross McNabb

– Ridgeview Psychiatric Services

– Volunteer Behavioral Healthcare Services

– Youth Villages (statewide)

� Middle Tennessee
- Centerstone

- Mental Health Cooperative

- Volunteer Behavioral Healthcare Services

� West Tennessee
- Professional Counseling Services

- Carey Counseling

- Quinco Mental Health Center

- Pathways of Tennessee

- Alliance Healthcare Services

Who is designated to provide crisis 
response services in Tennessee?



MPA Responsibilities

� Immediately provide notification of status changes 
to TDMHSAS

� Complete required refresher course within 30 days 
of professional license expiration date

� Consider all less drastic alternatives to psychiatric 
hospitalization before completing a CON

� Locate available inpatient bed and complete 
required payment pre-authorizations

� Assess and document the need for vehicular 
security and arrange for all transports



MPA Notifications to 
TDMHSAS

Immediately notify the Department if you:

� no longer meet the requirements for QMHP

� make changes in service area location(s)

� no longer function as a mandatory                     

pre-screening agent,  and/or

� change name, address or contact information. 

Find the status update form on the TDMHSAS 

website.

MPS Rule Chapter 0940-3-8-.04(6)



Knowledge of Community 
Resources

MPAs must have access to current 
information about available community 
resources and referral procedures to 
access less restrictive alternatives to 
hospitalization.  [This includes 
requirements imposed by third party 
payer sources.]

MPS Rule Chapter 0940-3-8.05(2)(7)



Important Community 
Resources

� Outpatient treatment

� Partial Hospitalization

� Respite

� Crisis Stabilization Units

� Crisis Walk-in Assessment Centers

� Crisis Hotline

� Behavioral Health Safety net

� Cover Rx

� Medically Monitored Crisis Detox Units

� A&D resources

Last Resort 



About the Process

A Mandatory Pre-screening Agent (MPA)
must complete one of the two 
certificates of need (CONs) for a person 
with mental illness or serious emotional 
disturbance to be admitted to a Regional 
Mental Health Institute  (RMHI).                   

Most private psychiatric hospitals/units 
also accept the authority of a MPA to 
complete CONs but are not obligated to. 

T.C.A. § 33-6-105



Mandatory Pre-screening 
Agent Not Available?

� If a MPA is not available within two 
hours, then a licensed physician or a 
licensed psychologist with a health 
service provider designation may 
complete the CON.

� The physician or psychologist must 
consult with a crisis team member 
regarding less restrictive alternatives.

T.C.A. § 33-6-105



Requirement for CON by 
Disinterested Professional

� If a person is to be committed to a private 
facility, at least 1 of the CONs shall be from 
a professional who is not an employee of 
the private facility.

� Employment as a faculty member by a 
school of medicine at a university or college 
associated with a hospital is not considered 
employment by the hospital.

T.C.A. § 33-4-107



Detaining for a CON 
Examination

A person cannot be deprived of liberty on 
the grounds that the person is believed to 
have: 

� a mental illness,

� serious emotional disturbance,

� developmental disability, or

� is in need of service for such a condition 

except in accordance with Title 33.

T.C.A. § 33-3-101



Detaining for CON Exam

� The authority to detain only applies  
until examination for a CON occurs. 
See http://tn.gov/mental/t33/MHDD5097.pdf for 
potential documentation form.

� Once a CON has been completed, 
arrangements for transportation and 
placement should immediately occur. 

TCA § 33-6-401



Detaining for a CON 
Examination

The person may be detained by 
an officer, physician, 
psychologist or a MPA to obtain 
examination for CON for care 
and treatment IF AND ONLY IF:

T.C.A. § 33-6-402



Detaining for a CON 
Examination

� A person has mental illness or serious 
emotional disturbance AND

� The person poses an immediate 
substantial likelihood of serious harm 
under T.C.A. § 33-6-501 because of the 
mental illness or serious emotional 
disturbance THEN

� The person may be detained to obtain 
examination for CON for care and 
treatment



Detaining for a CON 
Examination

A person with mental illness, serious 
emotional disturbance or 
developmental disability has the same 
rights as all other persons except to 
the extent that the person’s rights are 
curtailed in accordance with Title 33.

T.C.A. § 33-3-101(b)



Emergency Involuntary 
Admission

The person may be admitted and 
detained by a hospital or treatment 
resource for emergency diagnosis, 
evaluation, and treatment IF AND 
ONLY IF:

T.C.A. § 33-6-403



Criteria for Emergency          
Involuntary Admission

� Has mental illness or serious emotional 
disturbance,

� Poses an immediate substantial likelihood of 
serious harm because of the mental illness or 
serious emotional disturbance,

� Needs care, training, or treatment because of 
the mental illness or emotional disturbance, 
AND

� All available less drastic alternatives to 
placement in a hospital or treatment resource 
are unsuitable to meet the needs of the 
person.



Definitions

Mental illness - A psychiatric disorder, alcohol 
dependence, or drug dependence, but does not 
include mental retardation or other 
developmental disabilities.

Serious Emotional Disturbance - A condition in 
a child who currently or at any time during the past year 
has had a diagnosable mental, behavioral, or emotional 
disorder of sufficient duration to meet psychiatric 
diagnostic criteria, that results in functional impairment 
which substantially interferes with or limits the child’s 
role or functioning in family, school, or community 
activities and includes any mental disorder, regardless of 
whether it is of biological etiology.

T.C.A. § 33-1-101



Substantial Likelihood of 
Serious Harm

� Threatened or attempted suicide or to inflict 
serious bodily harm on him/herself  OR

� Threatened or attempted homicide or other 
violent behavior  OR

� Has placed others in reasonable fear of violent 
behavior and serious physical harm to them  OR

� Is unable to avoid severe impairment or injury 
from specific risks AND

� There is a substantial likelihood that such harm 
will occur unless the person is placed under 
involuntary treatment

T.C.A. § 33-6-501



Invalid Certificates of Need

Completed by:

� relative by blood

� relative by marriage

� relative by adoption

� legal guardian

T.C.A. § 33-3-125

� legal conservator

� legal custodian

� professional who has an 
ownership interest in a 
private facility in which the 
person is to be admitted



Responsibilities of Mandatory 
Pre-screening Agents in the Hospitalization 

Process

� Determine if the service recipient has a durable 
power of attorney (DPOA) for health care or a 
declaration for mental health treatment and 
comply to the extent possible.

� Determine if the service recipient is under a 
mandatory outpatient treatment (MOT)
obligation from an outpatient provider and 
discharging facility.

MPS Rule Chapter 0940-3-8.05(2)(7)



If the MPA determines the person 
does not meet admission criteria:

� Assess the availability of alternative services and 
offer referral, if appropriate

� MPA or designee must contact the person within 12 
hours for follow-up

� By agreement, MPA may designate another QMHP 
or crisis response service to do the follow-up

� Follow-up is not statutorily required if the MPA 
issues a CON for emergency hospitalization but as 
a best practice follow-up is recommended to 
ensure a person who may not be admitted at the 
psychiatric inpatient facility receives services

T.C.A. §33-6-106                          MPS Rule Chapter 0940-3-8-.05(9)



Required Follow-up
(If MPA Determines Emergency Criteria Not Met) 

Follow-up requires contact with the service 
recipient or someone knowledgeable of 
the service recipients condition to: 

� Determine post-evaluation status,

� Assess intervention impact, and 

� Assure appropriate service referral linkage 
occurred.

MPS Rule Chapter 0940-3-8.03(5)



Documentation 

MPAs must maintain the following 
documentation:

� Reason/justification for diversion

� Clinical intervention activities, if applicable

� Alternative services available and offered to 
the service recipient, if appropriate

� Results of follow-up contact and actions 
taken       

MPS Rule Chapter 0940-3-8-.05(9)(c)



Information to be provided to 
Treatment Resource by the MPA

� CON

� Durable power of attorney 
or declaration for mental 
health treatment

� Referral contact

� Current or recent 
prescription and/or OTC 
medications

MPS Rule Chapter 0940-3-8.05(8)

� Any known medical 
condition(s) 

� Current or recent 
alcohol/substance use

� MOT status 

� Community mental health 
provider

� Recommendations for 
services and/or supports 
following discharge



� If it appears that the service recipient has 
a physical disorder that requires 
immediate care, the service recipient 
needs to be taken to the hospital for 
medical treatment before transporting to 
a RMHI

� There is no statutory requirement to 
obtain a blood/alcohol test prior to 
admission.

T.C.A. §33-4-104

Medical Considerations



Confirmation of RMHI Bed 
Availability If Hospitalization 

Indicated

� Call your local RMHI to determine if 
available, suitable accommodations can 
be provided. 

� If a bed is available, obtain either a 
written or verbal confirmation number. 

� Provide the confirmation number, in 
writing, to the transportation agent. 



If Local RMHI Bed Not 
Available

� The RMHI will ask if you want to seek 
a bed at another RMHI.

� If so, the RMHI will contact the other 
RMHIs, starting with the closest RMHI, 
to determine bed availability.

� If another RMHI has bed availability, 
your local RMHI will facilitate your 
communication with the other RMHI.



If Local RMHI Bed Not 
Available

� If you decide to wait for a bed at the 
local RMHI, the service recipient will 
be placed on a waiting list until such 
time that a bed becomes available. 

� Once the bed is available the RMHI 
will contact you or the person you 
designate as the contact. 



Transportation of the           
Service Recipient

� Comply with county protocol(s) for 
designated modes of transportation

� MPA must determine and document 
level of security required and mode 
of transportation needed

MPS Rule Chapter 0940-3-8.05(2)(7)



Transportation of the           
Service Recipient

If the MPA determines that the person does not 

require physical restraint or vehicle security, 

these people may transport at the transporter’s 

expense:

– one or more friends

– neighbors

– mental health professionals 

familiar with the person

– relatives of the person

– member of the clergy

T.C.A. § 33-6-901



Transportation of the 
Service Recipient

� Transportation by the sheriff or secondary 
transport agent designated by the sheriff may 
only begin after the CON is completed and a 
confirmation number is provided

� Sheriff or transportation agent will transport 
the service recipient to a hospital or 
treatment resource

T.C.A. §33-6-406                                   

T.C.A. §33-6-901



Illegal Deprivation of 
Liberty by a MPA

Class E felony:

� Without probable cause, executes a 
certificate for hospitalization under 
Title 33

� Knowingly makes any false 
certificate under Title 33

T.C.A. § 33-3-901



Illegal Deprivation of 
Liberty by a MPA

Possible results of a Class E felony:

� Criminal status

� May result in jail time

� License or certificate 

would be in jeopardy

� Would most likely lose 

MPA status



Illegal Deprivation of 
Liberty by a MPA

All persons acting in 
good faith are free 
from all liability, civil 
or criminal, by reason 
of such acts.

T.C.A. § 33-3-901



Confidentiality

Except in compliance with Title 33, 
all applications, reports, and legal 
documents that directly or indirectly 
identifies a service recipient or former 
service recipient shall be kept 
confidential.

T.C.A. § 33-3-103



Disclosure Without 
Consent 

Information may be disclosed 
without consent if it is:

� Necessary to carry out duties under this title
� Necessary to assure service/care in least 

drastic means that are suitable to the service 
recipient’s liberty and interests

� A service recipient moves from one service 
provider to another and exchange of 
information is necessary for continuity of 
service

T.C.A. § 33-3-105



Duty to Warn

Two qualifications of a threat that 
require you to act under Duty to 
Warn:

� Threat of bodily harm against a clearly 
identified victim

� Has the apparent ability to commit such 
an act and is likely to carry out the 
threat unless prevented from doing so 

T.C.A. § 33-3-206



Duty to Warn

Obligations may be discharged by a 
QMHP by:

� Informing the identified victim of the threat OR

� Admitting the service recipient to a hospital on 
a voluntary basis OR

� Taking steps to seek involuntary commitment 
to a hospital OR

� Following your current professional standards 
to discharge the duty

T.C.A. § 33-3-207



DUTY TO WARN
Tenn. Code Ann. § 33-3-210 (2013)

Reporting to local law enforcement by a qualified mental 
health professional or behavior analyst of an actual 
threat of serious bodily harm or death against an 
identifiable victim.

(a) If a service recipient has communicated to a qualified mental health 

professional or behavior analyst an actual threat of serious bodily harm or death 
against a reasonably identifiable victim or victims, the qualified mental health 
professional or behavior analyst, using the reasonable skill, knowledge, and care 
ordinarily possessed and exercised by the professional's specialty under similar 
circumstances, who has determined or reasonably should have determined that 
the service recipient has the apparent ability to commit such an act and is likely 
to carry out the threat unless prevented from doing so, shall immediately report 
the service recipient to local law enforcement, who shall take appropriate action 
based upon the information reported.



Duty To Warn cont…
Tenn. Code Ann. § 33-3-210 (2013)

� (b) If a mental health professional or behavior analyst is 
required to report pursuant to subsection (a), the professional 
or analyst shall report the following information:

(1) Complete name and all aliases of the service recipient;

(2) Name of the mental health professional or behavior 
analyst and name of private or state hospital or treatment 
resource from which the individual may be receiving services; 
and

(3) Date of birth of the service recipient.



Duty To Warn cont…
Tenn. Code Ann. § 33-3-210 (2013)

� (c) The information in subdivisions (b)(1)-(3), the 
confidentiality of which is protected by other 
statutes or regulations, shall be maintained as 
confidential and not subject to public inspection 
pursuant to such statutes or regulations, except for 
such use as may be necessary in the conduct of 
any proceedings pursuant to §§ 39-17-1316, 39-17-
1353 and 39-17-1354.



Assessment Prior to Bail 
Determination

� Any officer who has reason to believe that a 
defendant under arrest may pose a 
substantial likelihood of serious harm to the 
defendant or to others may recommend an 
evaluation by a community mental health 
crisis response service to determine if the 
defendant meets criteria for emergency 
involuntary hospitalization.

T.C.A. §40-11-150(l)(1)(A)



Assessment Prior to Bail 
Determination

� This assessment shall be completed 
within 12 hours.

� Only MPAs affiliated with a community 
mental health crisis team can perform 
this assessment.

� This assessment does not determine 
eligibility for bail.

T.C.A. §40-11-150(l)(1)(A)(B)



To Continue Designation

� You must complete the required refresher course every 
two years within 30 days of the expiration date of your 
professional license.

� Submit an application for re-designation and copy of 
training certificate to MPA.Info@tn.gov.

� You may continue to complete CONs uninterrupted until 
you receive a confirmation email regarding your status 
which will not occur until license renewal is confirmed.

� All names of Mandatory Pre-screening Agents must be 
approved by the Commissioner and reported to the 
Claims Commission.



Licensure Re-verification 
by TDMHSAS

� TDMHSAS staff will re-verify the 
licensure status of MPAs through the 
Department of Health website every 
two years.

� If the Department of Health website 
indicates that a MPA no longer has an 
active Tennessee license, the MPA will 
be removed from the active MPA list 
and the Claims Commission notified.



Civil Action

� Mandatory Pre-screening Agents are 
state employees for the purpose of 
access to defense counsel 

� Must be registered with the Claims 
Commission (TDMHSAS will register 
each MPA with the Claims Commission)

� Not eligible for worker’s compensation 
benefits from the State of Tennessee

T.C.A. §8-42-101



Legal Counsel for 
TDMHSAS

If you receive notification of a civil action 
against you in your role as an MPA 

contact TDMHSAS as soon as possible:

Zack Griffith

General Counsel

Office of Legal Counsel 

Department of Mental Health and 
Substance Abuse Services

(615) 532-6520



Review - Completing 
Certificates of Need

Criteria:

� Has mental illness or serious emotional disturbance 
AND

� Poses an immediate substantial likelihood of serious 
harm because of the mental illness or serious emotional 
disturbance AND

� Needs care, training, or treatment because of the 
mental illness or emotional disturbance AND

� All available less drastic alternatives to placement in a 
hospital or treatment resource are unsuitable to meet 
the needs of the person 



#1. Is mentally ill as shown by:

� Active symptoms of psychiatric disorder

� Previous psychiatric diagnosis

� Previous psychiatric hospitalizations

� Previous prescription of psychiatric 
medications

� Reported or clinically suspected substance 
dependence

� Reported history of behaviors clinically 
indicative of a psychiatric disorder



#2. Poses an immediate substantial 
likelihood of serious harm by:

See previous definition of substantial likelihood 
of serious harm.

Examples of specific statements about the 
behavior:

� Clinical depression with suicidal attempt by overdose

� Threatening to kill wife due to paranoid delusions that 
she was poisoning food

� Entered neighborhood grocery threatening revenge 
on former co-workers



#3. Needs care, training or 
treatment as shown by:

Examples of specific statements about 
treatment:

� Treatment likely to prove beneficial in 
symptom reduction

� Medication likely to prove beneficial in 
behavior control

� Condition is likely to further deteriorate 
without treatment



#4. Less drastic alternatives 
are unsuitable as shown by:

� Present condition places self/others at too 
high a risk for injury

� Inability to contract for safety
� Unable to resist impulses or control 
behavior

� Will not agree to respite or CSU; suitable 
respite or CSU not available; failed respite 
or CSU, etc.

� Unable to provide safe environment; no 
support persons to provide or assist with 
supervision



Certificate of Need

� Write legibly

� Incorporate specific statements  

� Focus on verb/action statements

� Focus on immediate behaviors

� Avoid wordiness - the lines provided 
should be enough room

� Avoid use of medical jargon and 
abbreviations

� Make sure information is in the correct 
section



Mandatory Pre-Screening Agent 
Training

Training provided by:

Tennessee Department of Mental Health 

and Substance Abuse Services

Office of Crisis Services


